Climate Camp and Class

Picture the scene. The setting sun is glinting off the visors of the police lined up in front of me. It’s the second or third day of the week-long Camp for Climate Action – already I’ve lost count – and for the second or third time since I last slept it looks as if the cops are about to invade. I’ve just bolted from the opposite end of the site, where I’ve helped dig a defensive trench at another gate. To my left, atop a red van, a woman who sounds scouser than scouse exhaustedly screeches words of encouragement into a megaphone and somehow dances to Radiohead. To my right, a posher than posh couple casually talk up Cornish nationalism and agree that political correctness means white people suffer more oppression than anyone else on the planet. All the campers care about the environment, but that seems to be the only thing we have in common. That and – by now – a dislike of police.

Click here
for the rest of my Climate Camp analysis.

2 thoughts on “Climate Camp and Class

  1. Anonymous

    Hi,trying to get in touch about printing this article in Shift Magazine.Could you email shiftmagazine at hotmail dot com asap if you’d be interested in that…cheers

    Like

Comments are closed.